What is the Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL)?

30 Jun



The Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL) contains skilled occupations that the Australian government has assessed to fill critical skills needed to support Australia’s economic recovery from COVID-19.

Including the most recent additions (22 June 2021) the list includes 41 skilled occupations.


What does it mean if my occupation is on the PMSOL?

Visa applications from applicants with an occupation on the PMSOL list are given priority processing under the following visa subclasses:

• Temporary Skill Shortage (TSS) visa (subclass 482)
• Skilled Employer-Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 494)
• Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) visa (subclass 186)
• Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) visa (subclass 187)


If your occupation is on the PSMOL, you will be granted an exemption to travel to Australia

If you are currently outside Australia and you have been sponsored by your employer to work in Australia in an occupation on the PMSOL, you have grounds for application for an exemption to Australia’s travel restrictions.

You can apply for this exemption yourself, or your employer may do it for you. The mandatory 14-day quarantine period still applies and will still be at the traveller or sponsor’s expense.


Which occupations are on the list?


The 41 occupations (ANZSCO code) on the PSMOL are:


Chef (351311)*

Chief Executive or Managing Director (111111)

Construction Project Manager (133111)

Accountant (General) (221111)*

Management Accountant (221112)*

Taxation Accountant (221113)*

External Auditor (221213)*

Internal Auditor (221214)*

Surveyor (232212)*

Cartographer (232213)*

Other Spatial Scientist (232214)*

Civil Engineer (233211)*

Geotechnical Engineer (233212)*

Structural Engineer (233214)*

Transport Engineer (233215)*

Electrical Engineer (233311)*

Mechanical Engineer (233512)

Mining Engineer (excluding Petroleum) (233611)*

Petroleum Engineer (233612)*

Medical Laboratory Scientist (234611)*

Veterinarian (234711)

Orthotist or Prosthetist (251912)*

General Practitioner (253111)

Resident Medical Officer (253112)

Psychiatrist (253411)

Medical Practitioners nec  (not elsewhere classified) e.g.Dermatologists,Emergency Medicine Specialists,Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, Ophthalmologists,Pathologists,Diagnostic and Interventional Radiologists, and, Radiation Oncologists)

Midwife (254111)

Registered Nurse (Aged Care) (254412)

Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) (254415)

Registered Nurse (Medical) (254418)

Registered Nurse (Mental Health) (254422)

Registered Nurse (Perioperative) (254423)

Registered Nurses nec (254499) e.g Aboriginal Health Nurse, Flight Nurse, Immunisation Nurse, Nursing Officer (Defence Forces), Pathology Nurse, Radiology Nurse, Red Cross Blood Service Nurse, Registered Nurse (Infection Control), Remote Area Nurse

Multimedia Specialist (261211)*

Analyst Programmer (261311)*

Developer Programmer (261312)

Software Engineer (261313)

Software and Applications Programmers nec (261399)*  (No occupations have currently been identified for this residual category, which gives scope to be creative about the skills and tasks required!)

ICT Security Specialist (262112)*

Social Worker (272511)

Maintenance Planner (312911)


* Indicates occupation added in June 2021


Will more occupations be added to the list?

The PMSOL is a temporary list and will be subject to change as the Australian government assesses the impact of COVID-19 on the Australian labour market and the resulting changing skill demands.

The Department of Home Affairs website contains the most up to date information on the current PMSOL




Stay On Top Of The Latest In Immigration News And Changes!

Get one step closer to making Australia home!